Pick One Thing

Have you ever had the kind of year that truly stands out?  Well, for me, 2012 will definitely go down in history as a turning point year because it is the year I decided that from now on I will make a concerted effort to make each day really count!

2013 stick legs

To be honest, I didn’t make that decision until the end of the year (a few weeks ago) when I looked back and couldn’t really say anything that stood out for the year.  I was about to start getting disappointed. (Do you know the feeling?)  I did not make a billion dollars, move to my dream house, travel around the globe, or solve world hunger.  So, what earth shattering did I have to say for 2012?

What do you have to say for the year?  How will it go down in your personal history book? If you’re not especially pleased with how your year turned out, you’re not alone.  It can be tough looking back with regret about what hasn’t happened in our lives.  Psychologists say this often happens during year’s end.  However, one way of turning this around is by being hopeful and focusing on the positive.

positive 2012 For example, pick one thing that makes you smile about 2012, maybe something that you are particularly proud of.  Looking back, I am pretty proud that I am more patient and organized; I have made some wonderful new friends.  I’m set to do some life-changing work with the American Cancer Society; and, I launched an exciting new website:  http://www.EverythingHappiness.com.  On top of that, we are putting the finishing touches on a new Happy App coming out soon.  I bet you can come up with a few positive things to be Happy about for 2012.

hello2013 colors

Looking ahead, pick one thing that you would like to say about 2013; something you’re hopeful will have happened by years end.  Now, write a headline for the new year reflecting the year’s overall importance in the story of your life.  Here’s mine (so far):  “2013: The Happiness Network reaches 1 Billion plus.”  That’s a declaration of determination for making the year truly count.  And, to make it stick in place, I plan to use that headline as daily motivation and a reminder to make each day count.

Lauren Hudson is a Reporter, Speaker, and Author and is known as “The International Happiness Princess.”  For more, visit:  www.EverythingHappiness.com
One thought on “Pick One Thing

  1. Lauren, I just want you to know that one thing which stands out and makes me smile about this year, is the fact that you have taken the time and made the effort to reach out to ME, in validating both my struggles and achievements. For that I am truly grateful! as it’s easy to dwell upon all the disappointments of those who did not. Thank You! 😀 (l) ❤
    In case those last two little "thing a magigs" didn't work, they're suppose to be hearts! 🙂
    Hearts & Blessings!

Leave a Reply

