How Did We Survive?

It was a nightmare coming to life.  In mid-sentence, last night while I was at home talking on the phone, it crashed.  And it seemed my whole world went crashing with it.  I felt helpless; cut off from everyone; like I was stranded on a desert island.  “Hello? Can anybody here me?”  What a frightening thought.  What if there’s an emergency?   I can’t call anyone.  I was going into techno-shock.  My mind was racing.  What am I supposed to do without a cell phone?  My whole life is wrapped up in that phone.

Image

        Slowly but surely over the years, they’ve been becoming such an integral part of our world.  Nearly half the time, we’re not even using them to make calls.  We’re spending hours on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest; or, tooling around the web; checking and sending emails; or using apps.  One study shows that  one in four people check their phones every thirty minutes, while one in five check every ten.  Is that you?  I admit I’m sometimes guilty.

I started wondering, “How did we ever survive before cell phones?”  As I walked through the house trying to figure out what I was going to do to get through my techno-crisis, I noticed in the corner this strange device.  What’s  that?  What a concept.  It’s actually an “old-fashioned” telephone; the kind that’s plugged into a wall.  Remember those?   I couldn’t tell you the last time I had used it.  I was actually planning to cancel service for my home phone and save $25 / month.  I had only been keeping it “just in case.”  So glad I did!

Funny thing is, I picked up the phone and realized I didn’t even remember anyone’s phone number.   I’m so used to hitting speed dial.  Fortunately, I had a few numbers stored in the phone from when I first bought it, and I dialed a few friends to tell them my situation.  I felt connected with the world again.  “Whew!”  Now I’m heading to the cell phone store to get it fixed.  You can’t expect me to last that long!

 

Lauren Hudson is a Reporter, Speaker, and Author and is known as “The International Happiness Princess.”  For more, visit:  www.EverythingHappiness.com

Leave a Reply

